The Cyril Styring Trophy

The Cyril Styring Trophy

Criteria: For an IWA member who has, in the opinion of trustees, made an outstanding contribution in furthering the Association's campaign.  This is the Association's premier award.

Nominations: by 31st May each year

Past Winners:

1960 J L E Smith Esq (Sir John Smith CBE)
1961 Captain Vivian Bulkeley Johnson (inland shipping)
1962 Gordon Gray (benefactor)
1963 E W H (Bill) Christie Esq (legal work)
1964 Mr & Mrs Brian Knight (Stratford-upon-Avon Canal)
1965 Clifford N Clarke (Chesterfield Canal)
1966 Leslie Morton (canal carrying)
1967 Denys Hutchings (Kennet & Avon Canal)
1968 David Tomlinson (Stourbridge Canal)
1969 Graham Palmer (voluntary work parties, led to formation of WRG)
1970 David Hutchings (Stratford-upon-Avon Canal, Upper Avon)
1971 Tim Dodwell (voluntary work parties, Basingstoke Canal)
1972-3 Stan Offley (north west waterways)
1974 (not awarded)
1975 Fred Doerflinger (inland shipping, public relations)
1976 Alan Rowe (Great Ouse restoration, WRG)
1977 (not awarded)
1978 Lionel Munk - Thames, hire boat industry (also IWA national chairman)
1979-80 R S W Pollard (legal work)
1981 Major Logan Brown (East Anglian waterways –also IWA vice chairman)
1982-3 Graham Palmer (WRG founder)
1984 Chris Burton (Droitwich Canals, WRG)
1985-6 Bert Dunkley (Coventry Canal)
1987 David McCarthy (WRG North West)
1988 Dick Amende (Saltisford Canal)
1989 Fred Blampied (Bristol Avon, Kennet & Avon Canal)
1990 Roger Hasdell (editor, Waterways magazine)
1991 Graham Smith (Yorkshire Derwent)
1992 Ian Gall (National Waterways Festivals, north west waterways)
1993 Sheila Nix (Pocklington Canal Amenity Society / IWA North East Region)
1994 Mike Palmer (WRG)
1995 Ron Martin (trail boats)
1996 Arthur Farrand Radley MBE (London area waterways)
1997 Ivor Caplan (Waterways for Youth)
1998 George Andrews (Midlands waterways)
1999 Alan Jervis (WRG) 
2000 Sheila Davenport (IWA Sales – support for Head Office)
2001 Tony Davis (Thames)
2002 John Burrell (legal work)
2003 (not awarded)
2004 David Stevenson
2005 Ray and Lorraine Carter
2006 (not awarded)
2007 (not awarded)
2008 Elizabeth Payne
2009 Roy Sutton
2010 Tony Harrison
2011 John Baylis BEM
2012 Dr Roger Squires BEM
2013 Harry Arnold MBE
2014 (not awarded)
2015 Phil Sharpe
2016 Roy Chandler
2017 Chard Wadley
2018 Audrey Smith OBE
2019 John Gale

National Awards

See other National IWA Awards and make nominations.