IWA North West Region Awards

IWA North West Region Awards

01 May 2015

IWA North West Region held its 2015 Region Awards Ceremony in late April. The event was held at Eldonian Village on the Leeds & Liverpool Canal.  

David Smith was awarded the Region’s Kenwin Trophy, which was accepted by Audrey Smith on his behalf. David and Audrey joined IWA in 1970 and he promptly became involved with the Derwent campaign at that time. From then he has worked tirelessly on behalf of the waterways, around the country and for the Lancaster Canal in particular.

The Tetlow Trophy was given to the Small Tasks Team Volunteer group, led by Paul Mills and Maurice Ward. They have built up a dedicated team over the last couple of years which has done wonderful improvement works across the Region. Following IWA Chester & Merseyside Branch’s donation to the group, Mike Haig, Vice Chairman of IWA Shrewsbury & North Wales Branch, presented a further donation to the group, expressing the Branch’s thanks for all their hard work.

Photo: IWA North West Region awards - (left to right) Mike Haig (IWA Shrewsbury & North Wales Branch), Maurice Ward (Small Tasks Team Volunteers), Audrey Smith, Paul Mills (Small Tasks Team Volunteers) and Alan Platt (IWA North West Region Chairman)

View All News