Waterways All Party Parliamentary Group Chairman Announced

Waterways All Party Parliamentary Group Chairman Announced

01 October 2015

The Inland Waterways Association welcomes the appointment of Richard Benyon MP as Chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Waterways.  Mr Benyon was elected by MPs and Lords at the inaugural meeting of the Group for the new Parliament in September.

Mr Benyon, MP for Newbury, was the Waterways Minister at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs between 2010 and 2013, when he introduced the pioneering changes that established Canal & River Trust.  He mentioned his delight at having been elected as Chairman.  "I look forward to working with my colleagues from all Parties to promote the interests of the waterways."  He went on to confirm that "The APPG will focus our collective efforts on enhancing and promoting navigation on our inland waterways in Parliament."

IWA National Chairman, Les Etheridge, commented: “The APPG for the Waterways has benefited from having previous Waterways Ministers as Chair and I am delighted that once again the APPG will have such a knowledgeable and highly regarded Chairman in Richard Benyon MP; we look forward to contributing to the work of the Group.”

View All News