New Chair for Parliamentary Waterways Group

New Chair for Parliamentary Waterways Group

20 October 2016

IWA has welcomed the appointment of a new chair for the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Waterways.  Chris White, MP for Warwick and Leamington, was elected by MPs and Lords present at the Group’s AGM held at the House of Commons on 10th October.   

Chris White takes over from Richard Benyon MP, a former waterways minister who continues as a vice chair. Also elected as vice chairs of the Group were Cheryl Gillan MP, Ranil Jayawardena MP, Wendy Morton MP, John Cryer MP, Lord German and Baroness Randerson.

IWA also welcomes the Group’s new mission statement, which reflects the wider range of activities taking place on the UK’s waterways, particularly in terms of regeneration and restoration. 
The mission statement is:
To consider matters relating to navigable (and formerly navigable) rivers, canals, estuaries and lakes in the UK; including the potential social, economic and cultural impact of the regeneration of those waterways and extension of the system.

Chris White said:  “I am delighted to have been elected chair of the Waterways APPG. With Warwick and Leamington being home to an important part of the canal network, not least Hatton Locks, I look forward to promoting the case of inland waterways with regards to their economic, environmental, historical and touristic importance.

View All News