Canal & River Trust Appoints Heritage Committee

Issue date: 25th April 2012

The Canal & River Trust has confirmed appointments to a new committee, assembled to protect the heritage of the waterways.

CRT will be responsible for the third largest collection of listed buildings in the UK and the committee of nine people, chaired by former Chairman of English Heritage, Sir Neil Cossons, has been assembled to provide advice and support on heritage and conservation issues.

The other committee members are: Alan Baxter, Consulting Engineer to St Paul’s Cathedral and member of the London Advisory Committee of English Heritage; Peter Brown, a member of the Council of the Canal & River Trust, having been nominated by the Railway & Canal Historical Society; Nigel Crowe, Head of Heritage for the Canal & River Trust; Edward Holland a Senior Projects Advisor at The Prince's Regeneration Trust; Stephen Hughes, Director of Projects, Royal Commission on the Ancient & Historical Monuments of Wales; Jane Kennedy narrowboat owner and architect to the cathedrals of Ely, Newcastle and Christ Church, Oxford; Laurence Newman, Chairman of the Museums Partnership of the Canal and River Trust and a member of the Trust’s Council and John Yates, architect, historic boat specialist and Chairman of the Boat Museum Trust and Vice-chairman of the Boat Museum Society.

The committee will meet for the first time at the end of May and at least twice yearly from then.
Membership of the committee, which is unpaid, will last for a term of three years with an option to continue beyond that should members wish to do so. The committee will replace the former BWAF Heritage subgroup.

Read the full article on the Waterscape website