Coventry Canal

The Coventry Canal is 38 miles (61.3 km) long with 13 locks and connects Coventry to the Trent & Mersey Canal at Fradley Junction.  It connects with the Oxford Canal at Hawkesbury Junction, the Ashby Canal at Marston Junction and the Birmingham and Fazeley Canal at Fazeley.  Part of its route between Fazeley and Whittington Brook was actually built by the Birmingham & Fazeley Canal and legally still has that name, leaving the Coventry Canal divided into two sections, a historic anomaly that still causes some confusion.  The former connection with the Wyrley & Essington Canal at Huddlesford Junction is now reduced to a short arm but restoration of this ‘Lichfield Canal’ link through to Brownhills is making progress.

The maximum size of boat that can navigate throughout the Coventry Canal is
length: 75' 0" (22.85 metres) - Atherstone Lock 5
beam: 7' 5" (2.27 metres) - Atherstone Lock 5
height: 7' 4" (2.25 metres) - Bridge No 1 (Drapers Fields Bridge), Coventry
draught: 4' 11" (1.5 metres) - cill of Atherstone Lock 5



IWA Branch

Lichfield - North of Marston Junction
Warwickshire - Coventry Basin to Marston Junction

Navigation Authority

Canal & River Trust
Head Office
First Floor North
Station House
500 Elder Gate
Milton Keynes, MK9 1BB

T: 0303 040 4040
Canal & River Trust website