All Party Parliamentary Group for the Waterways

The All Party Parliamentary Group for the Waterways is being reconstituted for the new Parliament following the general election on 12th December. 


The officers for the 2017-2019 Group were:  

  • Chair & Registered Contact - John Grogan MP - Labour
  • Vice Chair - Richard Benyon MP - Conservative
  • Vice Chair - Andrew Bridgen MP - Conservative
  • Vice Chair - John Cryer MP - Labour
  • Vice Chair - Glyn Davies MP - Conservative
  • Vice Chair - Dr David Drew MP - Labour (Co-op)
  • Vice Chair - Michael Fabricant MP - Conservative
  • Vice Chair - Lord German - Liberal Democrat
  • Vice Chair - Jonathan Lord MP - Conservative

Mission Statement

The Group's mission statement is “To consider matters relating to navigable (and formerly navigable) rivers, canals, estuaries and lakes in the UK; including the potential social, economic and cultural impact of the regeneration of those waterways and extension of the system.”


The Secretariat for the Group is provided by Policy Connect working on behalf of The Inland Waterways Association.  

All enquiries should be made through Alison Smedley, IWA Campaigns & Public Affairs Manager (contactable by email using 

Minutes of APPGW meetings held with Stakeholders

APPWG minutes - 16th October 2018 (PDF 126KB)

APPGW minutes - 13th March 2018 (PDF 119KB)

Photo above:  APPG for the Waterways meeting held on 13th March 2018

Pictured are (l-r) Richard Parry (Chief Executive, Canal & River Trust), Michael Fabricant MP (Vice Chair, APPGW), John Grogan MP (Chair, APPGW), Rebecca Pow MP (Parliamentary Private Secretary, DEFRA), Emma Howard Boyd (Chair, Environment Agency), Lord German (Vice Chair, APPGW), Ivor Caplan (Chairman, The Inland Waterways Association).

Key Campaigns

Sign up for email updates

Keep up to date with all the latest waterways news. 

first name:
last name:

We will never share your email address with anyone else and you can update your subscription preferences at any time.