Oxford Canal

The Oxford Canal runs from Hawkesbury Junction, where it connects with the Coventry Canal, to Oxford, where it connects with the river Thames.  The section between Braunston Junction and Napton Junction is often considered part of the Grand Union Canal.  The Canal, from Hawkesbury Junction to Oxford, is 75 miles (120 km) long and has 46 lock (locks 2 to 7 at Hillmorton are in pairs).  There is one branch (Duke's Cut Branch), which runs from just below Duke's Lock No 44 to the Thames.  Duke's Cut Branch is 0.8 miles (1.3 km) long and has one lock. 

The maximum boat size that can navigate throughout the Oxford Canal is
length: 71' 10" (21.9 metres) - Hawkesbury Lock
beam: 6' 11" (2.11 metres) - Lock 16, Napton
height: 6' 9" (2.07 metres) - Bridge 131a on the summit
draught: 4' 5" (1.34 metres) - cill of Lock 16, Napton



IWA Branches

Oxfordshire - from the Thames at Oxford to bridge 141, above Claydon Top Lock
Warwickshire - from Hawkesbury Junction to bridge 141, above Claydon Top Lock

Navigation Authority

Canal & River Trust
Head Office
First Floor North
Station House
500 Elder Gate
Milton Keynes, MK9 1BB

T: 0303 040 4040
Canal & River Trust website

See also:

Waterways A-Z
Map of UK Waterways

Sign up for email updates

Keep up to date with all the latest waterways news. 

first name:
last name:

We will never share your email address with anyone else and you can update your subscription preferences at any time.